MAP Highlight of Winter Semester 2021/22: Poster Session and Awards Ceremony

Symbolic picture for the article. The link opens the image in a large view.
A lot of activity in the "poster hall" during one of the sessions

The same procedure as last year! MAP students head online to share their research results.

In the afternoon of 9 February, 2022, the annual Poster Session and Awards Ceremony of the Elite Master’s Programme in Advanced Materials and Processes (MAP) took place. Due to the SARS-CoV2 pandemic this event, usually one of the social highlights of the MAP calendar, was online for the second year running. Among the up to 100 participants we were pleased to welcome current and prospective MAP students, lecturers, researchers and administrative staff.

Review and Prizes

A short video showing the highlights of the 2022 MAP poster session which was held online on 9 February. The "superflash talks" of the four poster award winners are included. 


The MAP Poster Session is the culmination of a scientific skills course led in the Winter Semester by Prof. Robin Klupp Taylor and attended by the current third semester students (the 2020 MAP batch in the case of this year’s event). To enable a digital poster session which offers the same degree of personal interactions as a traditional, analogue session, Prof. Klupp Taylor developed a concept based on two complementary online platforms: MURAL and zoom. All the posters could be seen on the former, which is an interactive online whiteboard. Participants could easily navigate and read any of the posters and also leave questions or comments in the form of sticky notes. One definite advantage of a digital poster over an analogue one was exploited by several students – to include movies of simulations or microscopical investigations directly on the poster! The MURAL also acted as the gateway to the plenary zoom sessions, and, by clicking on the students’ photo next to each poster, participants could enter a zoom meeting with that student and discuss the poster there.

The 2022 MAP Poster Session took place on an interactive whiteboard (MURAL)

The third semester MAP students presented a total of 27 posters based on either their MAP miniproject or work carried out during their bachelor’s studies. The approximately two and a half hour event was divided into two sessions. The first of these covered projects relating to the MAP focal subjects Biomaterials and Bioprocessing and Computational Materials Science and Process Simulation. The second was dedicated to the Focal Subjects Nanomaterials and Nanotechnology and Advanced Processes. Each started with a plenary meeting on zoom where pre-recorded “superflash” talks prepared by the students were screened. In these 1 minute presentations the students introduced themselves and gave a very brief overview of their poster. After the talks the session moved to the MURAL and individual scientific discussions between the presenters and participants on zoom.

Before participants visited the posters, each student gave a 1 minute “superflash” talk about their work.

Participants concluded that it was an amazing poster session of extremely high quality regarding the level of digital presentation and the academic contributions of the students. All posters reached the standard required for presentation at international conference.

Awards for students and lecturers

After the second session of poster presentations the event concluded in a plenary session dedicated to prize-giving. Firstly, the Best Student Award for the 2020 MAP batch was announced by MAP chair Prof. Nicolas Vogel. This went to Khaled Mansour for excellence in his academic achievement. Next the MAP best lecturer awards were announced. This year this went jointly to Prof. Dr. Robin Klupp Taylor and Prof. Dr. Michael Engel. MAP student Aisha Abdul Quddus gave a thank you speech to the professors for their passion and enthusiasm in their teaching. She also praised their active communication with the students, even during the challenging period of the SARS-CoV2 pandemic. Finally, the poster awards were announced. The best posters were selected by MAP lectures and supervisors. Here is a list of the winners:

First Prize Lucía Morales Gutiérrez: Simple Synthesis of Inverse Supraparticles
Second Prize Khaled Mansour: Searching for Tetrahedra Crystals
Third Prize (joint winners) Jonathan Martín González: Optimizing Monte Carlo Ray-Tracing for Structural Color Prediction in Photonic Crystal Balls


Aaro Idhayan Joseph Marian Bosco: Patchy GaAg SCALMS for Propane Dehydrogenation

Congratulations to the four prize winners and many thanks for the excellent contributions to this great event by all 27 third semester MAP students!